Jon Batiste on stage holding notes of his composition
SCL Awards

Society of Composers & Lyricists Nominees: Jon Batiste, Billie Eilish, Olivia Rodrigo, Jack Black | Full List

Information about the image
December 21, 2023

The Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) has announced its nominees for the 2024 SCL Awards, including double nominations for Jon Batiste and Nicholas Britell.


he Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) has announced its nominees for the 2024 SCL Awards, a prestigious event that celebrates the exceptional talent in the field of music composition and lyric writing for visual media. This year's nominations are particularly noteworthy, with several artists receiving dual nominations, underscoring their significant contributions to the industry.

Double Nominees at the 2024 SCL Awards

Jon Batiste

Nicholas Britell

Taura Stinson

Carlos Rafael Rivera

Fabrizio Mancinelli

Allyson Newman

The nominations for the SCL Awards this year have a notable overlap with the Oscar shortlists for best original song and best original score, revealed on December 21, 2023. This parallel underscores the caliber of the SCL nominees and their resonance within the broader cinematic community.

SCL Nominees on the Oscar Shortlist for Best Original Song

Billie Eilish

Olivia Rodrigo

Lenny Kravitz

Diane Warren

Jon Batiste

The SCL Awards, now in their fifth year, are set to be presented on February 13 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. In addition to the already announced categories, the awards will also include the Spirit of Collaboration Award. This special category honors the enduring and fruitful relationships between composers and directors, celebrating the synergy that often drives the creative success of visual media projects.

Full List of SCL Nominees and Categories:

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Joe Hisaishi for "The Boy and the Heron"

Ludwig Göransson for "Oppenheimer"

Laura Karpman for "American Fiction"

Robbie Robertson for "Killers of the Flower Moon"

Anthony Willis for "Saltburn"

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jon Batiste for "American Symphony"

Mica Levi for "The Zone of Interest"

Fabrizio Mancinelli and Richard M. Sherman for "Mushka"

Daniel Pemberton for "Ferrari"

John Powell for "Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie"

Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production

Nicholas Britell for "Succession"

Natalie Holt for "Loki"

Martin Phipps for "The Crown"

Carlos Rafael Rivera for "Lessons in Chemistry"

Gustavo Santaolalla for "The Last of Us"

Outstanding Original Title Sequence for a Television Production

Chanda Dancy for "Lawmen: Bass Reeves"

Nainita Desai for "The Deepest Breath"

Kevin Kiner for "Ahsoka"

Atli Örvarsson for "Silo"

Carlos Rafael Rivera for "Lessons in Chemistry"

Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

Jon Batiste and Dan Wilson for "It Never Went Away" from "American Symphony"

Nicholas Britell and Taura Stinson for "Slip Away" from "Carmen"

Sharon Farber and Noah Benshea for "Better Times" from "Jacob the Baker"

Lenny Kravitz for "Road to Freedom" from "Rustin"

Olivia Rodrigo and Dan Nigro for "Can’t Catch Me Now" from "The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes"

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

Jack Black, John Spiker, Eric Osmond, Michael Jelenic, Aaron Horvath for "Peaches" from "The Super Mario Bros Movie"

Heather McIntosh, Allyson Newman, Taura Stinson for "All About Me" from "The L Word: Generation Q"

Billie Eilish O’Connell and Finneas O’Connell for "What Was I Made For?" from "Barbie"

Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt for "I’m Just Ken" from "Barbie"

Diane Warren for "The Fire Inside" from "Flamin’ Hot"

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

Stephen Barton and Gordy Haab for "Star Wars Jedi: Survivor"

Winifred Phillips for "Secrets of Skeifa Island"

Pinar Toprak for "Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora"

Austin Wintory for "Stray Gods"

The David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

Catherine Joy for "Home is a Hotel"

Fabrizio Mancinelli for "The Land of Dreams"

Allyson Newman for "Commitment to Life"

Hannah Parrott for "After Death"

Kenny Wood for "The Naughty Nine"

Author's Profile Image

PopFiltr is your personalized hub for in-depth music, media, and entertainment content, offering exclusive artist newsletters, insightful reviews, curated playlists, and comprehensive news and interviews.

Your add could be here

Related from PopFiltr